Wedding Wonderings: Literary Love Quotes

Sometimes there is no better way to say I love you than by quoting the greats.  Here are a few of my favorite declarations of love from literature.

Wedding Wonderings header

1. John Green, An Abundance of Katherines. I haven’t read this one yet, but the quote is beautiful.

“Here’s to all the places we went. And all the places we’ll go. And here’s to me, whispering again and again and again and again: I love you.”

2. Emily Bronte, Wuthering Heights. I’ve never quite seen the appeal of Heathcliff or Cathrine, but the prose in this is lovely.

“He’s more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”

“If he loved you with all the power of his soul for a whole lifetime, he couldn’t love you as much as I do in a single day.”

Wuthering Heights 1939Wuthering Heights, 1939, United Artists

3. A. A. Milne, Winnie the Pooh

“As soon as I saw you, I knew an adventure was going to happen.”

artfixdailyArtFixDaily

4. F. Scott Fitzgerald. I could do a whole post on amazing love quotes from him.

“They slipped briskly into an intimacy from which they never recovered.” – This Side of Paradise

“I fell in love with her courage, her sincerity, and her flaming self respect. And it’s these things I’d believe in, even if the whole world indulged in wild suspicions that she wasn’t all she should be. I love her and it is the beginning of everything.”

“You are the finest, loveliest, tenderest, and most beautiful person I have ever known—and even that is an understatement.”

5. Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast. I’ve never been a huge Hemingway fan, but I do really like this quote.

“We ate well and cheaply and and drank well and cheaply and slept well and warm together and loved each other.”

6. Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre. The Bronte sisters had quite a way with romantic phrases.

“I ask you to pass through life at my side—to be my second self, and best earthly companion.”

mysecretlights.tumblr JE 2011Jane Eyre, 2011, Universal Pictures/Focus Features (mysecretlights.tumblr)

7. Oscar Wilde

“You don’t love someone for their looks, or their clothes, or for their fancy car, but because they sing a song only you can hear.”

8. J. R. R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

“I would rather share one lifetime with you than face all the ages of this world alone.”

9. William Goldman, The Princess Bride. The list is not complete without this one.

“Mawwiage. Mawwiage is what bwings us togethew today. Mawwiage, that bwessed awwangement, that dweam within a dweam. And wove, twue wove, wiww fowwow you fowevah and evah… So tweasuwe youw wove.”

Princess BrideEtsy, Khallion

10. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice. I know it is cliche, but it gives me the shivers every time a read it, it is so full of feeling and anguish and beauty.  It is the epitome of a declaration of love.

“…you have bewitched me, body and soul, and I love, I love, I love you. I never wish to be parted from you from this day on.”

colinfirthPride and Prejudice, 1995, BBC 

If you are looking for longer readings from literature for a wedding ceremony, Jamie at The Perpetual Page Turner has an awesome list.

What are your favorite literary love quotes?  How have you used them in your weddings or in other romantic ways?

One thought on “Wedding Wonderings: Literary Love Quotes

Leave a Reply

