DIY Wedding Planning Notebook

Wedding Wonderings header

All of the stuff related to our wedding has been living in a pile that moves from our eating table, coffee table or living room floor as we need those areas.  I have been looking for a wedding binder or something to collect it all in, but I don’t like any of them that I have found.  I don’t need all of the checklists and calendars and “helpful hints” that come in the pre-made ones. My guest lists and checklists are all online at The Knot. I have a calendar already.  The binders at the stores are too big, too expensive and not organized the way I like them.  The print-your-own and put it together kind from online have a bunch of stuff I don’t need or want and I just couldn’t find one that I liked.

And in the meantime, I’ve been terrified that I will loose something important. So, I once again feel back on the motto, “If you want it done right, do it yourself.”

Most of my wedding stuff is loose papers, fabric swatches, business cards and other random bits of looseness that don’t work well with a traditional binder.  And, really, who wants to have to stop and punch holes in every single thing anyway?  So I decided that pocket folders would be the best way to organize everything; they hold all the random bits that you can’t punch holes in, you can categorize things and they are CHEAP.  I mean, you can get them for pennies!  But of course, that leaves me with a pile of folders, and while they are harder to loose than random papers and pieces of stuff, they still aren’t especially well contained.

My next thought was to put the folders in a binder.  They are contained; you don’t have to punch holes once they are in the binder.

But then you are back to the issue of having to lug a binder around.  I don’t know about you, but I have enough crap I schlep around every day without adding a big, bulky, inconvenient binder to the mix. So that was a no-go and I was back to the drawing board.  I was stumped until a few nights ago when I couldn’t sleep.  I remembered that when I was younger my Mama had this thing that was basically folders bound together and of course as soon as she discovered them, they stopped making them. But the concept is perfect and we have a spiral binding machine at work. Problem solved.

IMG_20140228_133153

I grabbed four plain 2-pocket folders that I had lying around. (Mine are just plain, cheap ones, but if you wanted to get creative and fancy you could.)  I turned three of them inside out so that the pockets were on the outside and I cut the fourth one in half to be the front and back covers.  I sandwiched the three whole folders in between the two halves of the fourth so that folder part of the halves were facing in towards the other folders and the folds of the intact folders would be facing out once they were bound together.

IMG_20140228_140129

I punched wholes on the side of the folders I wanted to be bound and attached the binding to them.  A few labels stuck on the pockets and we’re done.

IMG_20140228_133307

Viola! A wedding notebook that suits my exact needs.

IMG_20140228_133246

Leave a Reply

